top of page

Who Owns the Eportfolio?

Who owns your online work. I have read all of the articles but I still struggle with the answer to that question. I agree with the thought that student needs to know that their work can be seen by many and that may spark their interest.

My daughter loves to read stories on Fanfiction . She also liked to post there with her own stories. But does she now own them or can anyone take then? Can Fanfiction or whatever parent company claim them because the story platform is their domain?

Or is the question digital ownership? Can the student get behind their work and “Own” it because they know others will see it and make judgment?

“Promoting digital ownership is different than assigning work in publicly accessible spaces.” and

“It makes sense when students find ownership in what they choose to create, how they put it online, and how it engages a broader audience. The question bigger than data ownership is how to make ownership over ideas happen”.

Both text selections from “Do I Own My Domain If Your Grade It? Help me decipher this a bit. The pedagogical shift is for the students to take charge of their learning. “Why” should I do this homework? Show me what you know - show your peers - show the world what you know. - Then the lightbulb- others will see this! I feel good when others see what I did and comment on it.

(2015, August 10). Do I Own My Domain If You Grade It? | EdSurge News. Retrieved October 26, 2017, fromhttps://www.edsurge.com/news/2015-08-10-do-i-own-my-domain-if-you-grade-it


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page