top of page

Blank Stares to Big Smiles


I need to get to know my 6th graders better. It is a big class and I didn't connect with them last year as well as I should have.

I am ready to begin and forge new relationships this year. I am so excited to start this using Project based learning. I planned an entire unit for the class, but before we start I needed the students to learn to work in teams- the way businesses bounce ideas off each other and take a little from each team member.

Today, I started with a team work exercise - they were in their groups - come up with an innovative product. BLANK STARES! But in 22 minutes the groups started to talk and innovate. They got to use their imagination. Something that may have sounded "dumb" at first became a project.

I was only going to do this product as a 1 day teamwork lesson - but after seeing the excitement - I am now going with it. These ideas will have a business plan, a logo, acost to produce and a selling cost. These products will have a commercial and be "sold" on The Shark Tank.

Each day it amazes me how much I learn from the students.

Best job in the World!!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page